Search form

(VIDEO) Arcade Fire and LCD Soundsystem at Madison Square Garden

James Murphy
James Murphy

On April 2, 2011 LCD Soundsystem played their last show at Madison Square Garden with a three hour performance that included special guests appearing onstage throughout the evening.

LCD Soundsystem was formed in early 2001 by DFA label head James Murphy, and would gradually become one of the hottest bands in the world by creating infectious dance beats combined with electronic noodlings and themes like New York City hipster parties, designer drugs and a sense of mischief that encapsulates what Williamsburg is all about. LCD Soundsystem had a brief but brilliant career, first appearing on the scene in 2002 with their first single, “Losing My Edge” igniting an immediate buzz about the band and DFA Records, the label Murphy co-founded with Tim Goldsworthy. A series of successful singles followed before the release of their self-titled debut album in 2005.

LCD Soundsystem would quickly become a festival favorite, appearing at numerous music festivals including Bonnaroo and Coachella. In 2007 they released their sophomore album, Silver Strands to critical acclaim, cementing their status as one of the biggest crossover acts to emerge from the burgeoning New York music scene.

Their final album, This Is Happening was released in November 2010, and just a few months later on February 5, 2011 the band announced that they would perform their final show on April 2, 2011 at Madison Square Garden in New York City. The video above shows members of The Arcade Fire singing back-up on, “North American Scum” from last night's legendary event.


  • Set 1:
  • Dance Yrself Clean
  • Drunk Girls
  • I Can Change
  • Time to Get Away
  • Get Innocuous!
  • Daft Punk is Playing at My House
  • Too Much Love
  • All My Friends Tired
  • Set 2:
  • 45:33 Part One
  • 45:33 Part Two (featuring comedian Reggie Watts)
  • Sound of Silver
  • 45:33 Part Four
  • 45:33 Part Five (featuring Shit Robot)
  • 45:33 Part Six Freak Out/Starry Eyes
  • Set 3:
  • Us V. Them
  • North American Scum (featuring The Arcade Fire)
  • Bye Bye Bayou (Alan Vega cover)
  • You Wanted a Hit
  • Tribulations
  • Movement
  • Yeah
  • Encore 1:
  • Someone Great
  • Losing My Edge
  • Home
  • Encore 2:
  • All I Want
  • Jump Into the Fire (Harry Nilsson cover)